Vanilla Donuts

20140227_201129_HDR
Hello there! Welcome to March! It’s one of my favorite months. The weather starts to get warmer toward the end of it, Spring flowers start to peek out and say hello and it’s my birthday month!  For the month of March, each recipe will be birthday-themed in some way. This week’s recipe is birthday related because I received the pan as a birthday gift from my husband two years ago.  I thought it would be fun to make my own homemade baked donuts.  I tried the recipe that came with the pan (it wasn’t so good) and it has sat in a plastic storage container ever since.

20140227_201321
A few days ago, one of my co-workers noticed I had a tire doing flat (which happens with this crappy freezing weather we’ve been having) and asked one of the guys in the back of my building for some air to get it to a mechanic to see what the problem was.  Not only did I get the added air but with further investigation, the guy discovered a nail in my tire and patched it for free. Being the thankful person that I am, I decided to do one better than just buying some junk as a thank you, I wanted to bake up something. These are what resulted.  I’ve been looking for better donut recipes over the past 6 months or more but just not having a reason to make them (other than making my jeans tighter). I could think of no better reason to break out the donut pan and show my gratitude.

20140227_201401_HDR
Of course some are glazed, some more, some less. Everyone has different tastes. Variety is good sometimes. Even better with donuts. 🙂

20140227_201441_HDR
I had to add some heart sprinkles. I gave these to our secretary.  She was a major help this past week. It’s the least I could do but share the vanilla-y goodness.

20140227_201545
And some Easter sprinkles! I love the cute little bunnies and chicks. Just makes me smiles. Maybe an addition to your Easter brunch? Just add a drop of food coloring to the glaze for a splash of Spring. I think I need to make more of these. Have a flavor suggestion?  Please let me know! I hope you try these little beauties!

Vanilla Donuts
Adapted from Sur La Table
Makes Exactly One Dozen Standard-Sized Donuts

Ingredients

Donuts

  • 2 Cups All-Purpose flour
  • 1/2 cup brown sugar
  • 2 tsp baking powder
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 3/4 cup fat-free buttermilk
  • 2 tsp vanilla extract
  • 1 1/2 tsp melted butter

Glaze

  • 1 cup powdered sugar
  • 1/2-1 tbsp milk
  • 1 tsp vanilla extract
  • food coloring, if desired

In a measuring cup, pour in the buttermilk or make your own with regular milk and 1-2 tsp of lemon juice or vinegar and set aside to curdle.  In a large bowl, blend the flour, sugar, baking powder, cinnamon and salt.  Add eggs, vanilla, melted butter to buttermilk.  Pour milk mixture to the flour mixture and mix with a spoon until just combined. Spoon about half of the batter into the end of a large plastic bag then snip one end.  Pipe in batter into a prepared donut pan until all moulds are evenly filled. Bake at 425 deg F for 10 minutes. Let cool in the pan for about 5 minutes and recoat the pan for the second batch.  While waiting for the second batch to bake, in a medium-sized bowl, mix together powdered sugar, vanilla and milk (and color, if desired) to create glaze.  Add sprinkles immediately after dipping into glaze.  Wait 5 minutes for glaze to set.

Trial and Error Tips:

*** Try to keep batter balanced between the batches or you’ll have uneven donuts.
*** Split the glaze into two bowls prior to coloring to have some variation.
*** Try adding a second extract flavor like orange, lemon or strawberry. Maybe a handful of blueberries or mini chocolate chips. Yum!

2 thoughts on “Vanilla Donuts

Leave a Reply

