Red, White and Blue French Macarons

20140526_092154_HDR

I felt a little patriotic last weekend so I made these little bite-sized guys.  I know I posted about French Macarons recently but I was too excited to not make them again.  This time I cut the recipe in half so if you’re practicing on perfecting your technique (like I am) this recipe will be exactly what you’ll need.  All of the batter fit on two of my cookie sheets! Yay! (I have a bad feeling if I try to cut the recipe even further, the results will be bad but who knows, I may try it.)

20140526_092516_HDR

To get the colors like I did, just pop a few drops of food gel coloring directly to your piping bag! Scoop in your batter into the piping bag carefully and pipe away! You can do this with any colors, just make sure your batter is a light enough color to see the others, if you add color directly to the batter too. I wanted the red, white and blue effect so I skipped the color to keep them white, this time. These would be great for a Fourth of July or Memorial Day picnic. Or make them for your little (or big) superhero.  They brought thoughts of Superman and Captain America to my mind as I was piping. I’d just have to use some royal icing for the “A” once baked…. #comicbookgeek

20140524_153444_HDR

The fillings are a salted caramel buttercream and lemon buttercream.  I always have icing around but feel free to fill them with your heart’s desire and have fun with flavors!  There may be some strawberry jam filled ones coming for someone’s birthday (my mom’s is in the end of June).  Maybe.  I’m just thinking out loud. Although I see pastel swirls in my future….

20140526_092702_HDR

I did the measurements in grams again. I’ve found it just gives a more consistent result.  A kitchen scale is an invaluable tool to have; I think I got mine for $15 at Target so they aren’t super expensive.

20140526_092301

I hope you are conquering French Macarons like I am and give this recipe a try!

 

Red, White and Blue French Macarons
Makes about 60 shells, about 30 bite-sized cookies

Ingredients

60 g almond flour
100 g powdered sugar
50 g egg whites, room temperature
1/8 tsp cream of tartar
15 g sugar

Sift almond flour and powdered sugar in three parts into a bowl, plate or parchment paper. In a clean bowl wiped down with lemon juice, add egg whites and whip with your mixer at medium speed until frothy. Add cream of tartar and whip a minute then slowly add the sugar. Once combined, increase to medium-high speed until meringue is a soft stiff and shiny. (Whip until the whisk gives a soft tip that doesn’t droop. When the tip stands up straight, you’re ready for the next step.) Gently fold in the flour mixture in three or four parts, counting your fold, not exceeding 50.  Aim for 40 folds to avoid deflation of the egg whites.  Prep two baking sheets with parchment paper and set aside.  Drip 2-3 drops of food coloring gel of red to one side of a piping bag fitted with a plain, large tip. Drip 2-3 of blue color gel to the opposite side of the piping bag, parallel to the red. (Use a toothpick to move the gel lower in the bag, if needed.) Gently fill piping bag with batter. Pipe on to baking sheets perfectly horizontal so that you get equal distribution of both colors. Let cookies sit to dry for at least an hour to an hour and a half until the tops are no longer tacky. Bake at 275 degrees for 15-18 minutes, until a cookie comes off the paper easily. Let cool completely before filling.  Eat immediately or let sit in refrigerator overnight and enjoy!

Trial and Error Tips:

I found that only putting part of the flour in the sifter much easier and faster than dumping the entire amount in at once.  Try either thirds or in half. I sifted the flour onto a large bowl lid or you can use parchment paper, whichever is easier.

Do NOT go over the 50 folds or you will get flat Macarons. Just look here for overmixing examples. Try to aim for the 40 mark more.

Every article I’ve read has stated to use “aged” egg whites.  In my experience, you can use the egg whites from the carton, the pasteurized stuff and be fine.  I can’t stand waste, so I’ve used those for all of my macaron recipes.

I find that the cookies become softer and the flavor meld together if they sit in a sealed container in the fridge for a day.

 

Copyright – The Trial and Error Kitchen

Leave a Reply

